Cluster Development Programme under AHVY Scheme

Through information from primary and secondary sources as well as recommendation of the Govt. of India, SAMT identified a cluster of terracotta artisans at Vill. Hatpara, PO.Kunor in the Kaliagunj block, Dist. North Dinajpur. SAMT conducted a survey on more than 200 artisans there and selected 150 artisans for starting the 5-year Cluster Development Programme under AHVY Scheme which was financially supported by the Office of Development Commissioner (Handicraft), Ministry of Textiles, Government of India.Activities undertaken are as follows:-

  • Baseline survey
  • Formation of 10 Self Help Groups Mobilization with 150 teracotta artisans.
  • Opening of Bank Account of the Self Help Groups
  • Engagement of Cluster Manager
  • Three 15-day Design &Technical Development Workshop
  • Five 3-month Skill Upgradation Trainings.
  • One (1) 3-day Entrepreneurship Development Programme
  • Exhibition at Kolkata
  • Formation of Federation with 150 artisans